top of page

A. Savage Presents New Single/Video & Announces Fall U.S. Tour

Parquet Courts frontman A. Savage, freshly signed to Rough Trade Records, presents his new single/video, “Thanksgiving Prayer,” and announces a fall North American tour. “Thanksgiving Prayer” marks Savage’s first new solo music since 2017’s Thawing Dawn — “a handy guide for keeping your cool as the world degenerates into a hot mess” (Pitchfork) — and follows the release of Parquet Courts’ acclaimed 2021 album, Sympathy For Life. “Thanksgiving Prayer” is anchored by Savage’s poetic musings, observations that are accentuated by saxophone flourishes from Euan Hinshelwood. “Thanksgiving Day is every day I write a song like this,” Savage croons atop instrumentation from Magdalena McLean (violin), Jack Cooper (guitar), and Dylan Hadley (drums/percussion). “When I get down on all four paws and drag myself // by my own jaws toward a feeling.”


Of the single, Savage adds: “Well, Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, and every year on that day I write down some words having to do with gratitude. Some years are better than others, but the last one I celebrated these words just sort of came out of me. It was a pretty special holiday actually, because in fact we were recording this song, but I made everybody take a day off. [Producer] John Parish and his wife Michelle were kind enough to allow me to take over their kitchen to cook the meal for everyone. Dylan and I were the only Americans, so there was a bit of explaining to do. So it was the band, the studio staff and the Parish family, and it was an absolutely lovely day. I was in awe of the kindness and mercy, and that’s what the song is about; being in awe of humans. When I got back to my room I was on such a high so I started writing and this song is what was on the page the next morning, when we recorded it.”

The accompanying “Thanksgiving Prayer” video — directed by Tiff Pritchett —is a black-and-white homage to silent film, with Savage adorned in makeup and surrounded by his band and handmade decoration. Of the “Thanksgiving Prayer” video, Savage adds: “The video is directed by a brilliant young director Tiff Pritchett, and she had this idea to sort of do a silent film tribute. The scene from Renoir’s film Rules of the Game where Danse Macabre is played was referenced, as was Klaus Nomi.”

This fall, A.Savage will embark on a North American tour, bringing his beloved performances to New York, Chicago, Washington, DC and more. Full dates are listed below and tickets are on sale Friday at 10am EST. Stay tuned for more music to come from A. Savage later this year.

A. SAVAGE TOUR DATES Sat. Sep. 30 - Newport, Essex, UK @ Murmuration Festival Fri. Oct. 20 - Portland, ME @ SPACE Sat. Oct. 21 - Boston, MA @ Crystal Ballroom Sun. Oct. 22 - Portsmouth, NH @ Press Room Tue. Oct. 24 - Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground Wed. Oct. 25 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Eccentric Cafe Fri. Oct. 27 - Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle Sat. Oct. 28 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club Sun. Oct. 29 - Milwaukee, WI @ Colectivo Mon. Oct. 30 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway Wed. Nov. 1 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups Thu. Nov. 2 - Louisville, KY @ Whirling Tiger Fri. Nov. 3 - Nashville, TN @ Third Man Sat. Nov. 4 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl Sun. Nov. 5 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle Tue. Nov. 7 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle Thu. Nov. 9 - Washington, DC @ Black Cat Fri. Nov. 10 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Sat. Nov. 11 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom

3 views0 comments
bottom of page